

April 22, 2024

The Honourable Doug Ford Premier of Ontario premier@ontario.ca

Dear Premier Ford,

I am writing to you today as Chair of Ontario's Big City Mayors (OBCM) to reiterate OBCM's strong support for provincial legislation enforcing a Municipal Code of Conduct for all municipally elected officials across the province.

Our mayors passed the attached motions in 2023 at both our AGM/Conference in April and together with the Mayors and Regional Chairs of Ontario (MARCO) at the AMO Conference in August.

Many of our cities have also written to the province directly and, along with municipalities of all sizes across the province, together we have supported the work of other municipal associations such as AMO, FCM, and AMCTO, as well as the work of community groups such as The Women of Ontario Say No.

OBCM is requesting that priority be given to the creation of legislation that holds local leaders responsible who engage in abuse or harassment in the workplace. We also request that the government work together with municipalities and their integrity commissioners on the development of any regulation related to any proposed code of conduct legislation, so that the voices of mayors and councils can be heard.

We believe that elected officials at every level of government deserve to have a strong code of conduct with strict rules and penalties for those who engage in these behaviours, and protections for the victims of such abuse. We look forward to working with your government to ensure that all elected officials feel safe and protected in their workplace.

If you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact us.

Sincerely,

Marianne Meed Ward Mayor of Burlington

Chair, Ontario's Big City Mayors (OBCM)



Cc: Honourable Paul Calandra, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing
Matthew Rae, Parliamentary Assistant - Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing
Honourable Charmaine Williams - Associate Minister of Women's Social and Economic Opportunity
Martha Greenberg, Deputy Minister - Municipal Affairs and Housing
Colin Best, President - Association of Municipalities of Ontario
Scott Pearce, President - Federation of Canadian Municipalities
Karen Redman, Chair - Mayors and Regional Chairs of Ontario