Ontario’s Big City Mayors (OBCM) Statement on Announcement of Team Members Named to Ontario’s Housing Supply Action Team

Posted on Mar 14, 2023

March 14, 2023

Ontario’s Big City Mayors (OBCM) is pleased to see the province’s announcement of the addition of seven housing experts and industry leaders appointed to complete the Housing Supply Action Plan Implementation Team, and that they will be meeting in the coming weeks. OBCM has been advocating for the activation of the Implementation Team  for several months, as they can provide a critical role in implementing Ontario’s Housing Supply Action Plans by bringing together all parties in the home building process from across the province. 

Municipalities play an important role in facilitating and servicing new housing and it is crucial for us to work together with those building these homes to create communities that will thrive for years to come. OBCM applauds the government for ensuring municipal voices are heard by confirming the appointment of OBCM Member, Mayor Drew Dilkens of Windsor, and Mayor Cheryl Fort of Hornepayne.  OBCM municipalities are committed to meeting the province’s target of 1.5 million homes in ten years, and the addition of the new members and activation of the Implementation Team is a big step towards getting units built and reaching these goals. 

“We look forward to further details on the roles and responsibilities of the Housing Supply Action Plan Implementation Team over the coming weeks,” says Mayor Bonnie Crombie, OBCM Chair. “As their meetings begin, municipalities want to work with the team to ensure all of our voices are heard and we are working together to build the homes Ontarians need.”

About Ontario’s Big City Mayors

Ontario’s Big City Mayors (OBCM), formerly known as the Large Urban Mayors’ Caucus of Ontario, includes mayors of 29 single and lower-tier cities with a population of 100,000 or more, who collectively represent nearly 70 percent of Ontario’s population. OBCM advocates for issues and policies important to Ontario’s largest cities.

Media Contacts

Mayor Bonnie Crombie, Chair


Michelle Baker, Executive Director